Municipal Government

Simcoe-Grey is a big riding that includes two upper-tier levels of government (counties) and seven municipalities. 

SimcoeCouncilThe powers of municipal governments are determined by the provincial government through the Municipal Act. Municipal governments in Ontario are responsible for providing many of the services within their local boundaries such as: 

Airports, Ambulance, Animal Control, By-law Enforcement, Arts and Culture, Child Care, Economic Development, Fire Services, Garbage Collection and Recycling, Electric Utilities, Library Services, Long Term Care and Senior Housing, Maintenance of Local Road Network, Parks and Recreation, Public Transit, Planning New Community Developments and Enhancing Existing Neighbourhoods, Police Services, Property Assessment, Provincial Offences Administration, Public Health, Side Walks, Snow Removal, Social Services, Social Housing, Storm Sewers, Tax Collection and Water and Sewage 

Property Taxes 

Your municipal government collects property taxes from each property owner. Tenants pay a portion of their landlord's property taxes through their rent.  

The taxes are calculated by multiplying the assessed value of a property by a tax rate. There are two parts to the tax rate:  

  • the municipal tax rate, which is set by your municipal government; and 
  • the education tax rate, which is set by the provincial government.  
  • A municipality can set different tax rates for different classes of property, and the main classes include residential, multi-residential, commercial and industrial.

To contact a local government in Simcoe-Grey, follow the links below.

County of Simcoe

County of Grey

Town of New Tecumseth

Township of Adjala-Tosorontio

Essa Township

Clearview Township

Town of Collingwood

Town of Wasaga Beach

Town of The Blue Mountains

Ontario's Debt Clock

Email Signup


Get the most up to date information on the 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19).